Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We may leave our families, but they never leave us…

*

Behold:

*

I remember the mulberry tree

Where we used to play

You told me it was our special place

Our happy place

Father and son

Son and father

Away from the world 

Away from the worries

Away from the ward

Where they radiated you

Where they stole your blood

Where they killed you

You tried to build a treehouse

But it failed

You tried to build a swing

But it failed

You tried to hang a tyre

And it held

You pushed me

Higher 

Faster

More and more

You pushed me

Made me strong

Strong enough to live without you

And here I am

With my own son in my arms

Standing beside the mulberry tree

No

Beside the mulberry stump

A remnant of what was

A remnant of us

A remnant of you

Gone

But not forgotten

One day I’ll tell him

About the mulberry tree

About the new seed I planted

Something new

From something old

One day I’ll tell him

About you

About my dear old dad

Someone old

For someone new

One day I’ll tell him

Why his father cries

When he sees a stump

And a sapling

One day I’ll tell him

The story of the mulberry tree…

*

Thank you for listening.

