Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Fading… 

*

Behold:

*

My body is not my own

My lungs are not my own

My life is not my own

I breathe

And a machine breathes for me

I live

And a machine lives for me

I die

But no machine dies for me

A tube in my mouth

My nose

My lungs

Breathe in 

Whirr

Breathe out

Whoosh

I cannot move

I cannot breathe

I cannot live

My arms

Restrained

My feet

Restrained

My heart

Free as a bird

Hush

The doctor approaches

My doctor

My lord

My saviour

He looks at me

I look at him

We stare across the void

Life

And 

Death

He speaks

One word

One sentence

One judgment

Terminal

He says

Sedate him

He says

Let him go

He says

I want to scream

But I cannot

I want to cry

But I cannot

I want to plead

But I cannot

My family is here

Grieving 

My lover is here

Crying

My nurse is here

Preparing

In goes the sedative

Out goes the worry

Why stress?

Why fear?

Why fight?

I can sleep for awhile

And when I awake

All will be well…

*

Thank you for listening.

