Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

To the rock, the river lies still. To the leaf, it is a tempest.

Behold:

Upon this liquid road I totter

As I drift across the water

Pondering the way to go

Currents pulling at me to and fro

~~~

Shall I follow my heart and change my way?

Shall I follow my mind and keep to the sway?

Shall I follow my friends as they drift by?

Shall I follow my father until I die?

~~~

I swirl and dance between the rocks

Eddies catch and release my locks

Life plays with my hopes and dreams

Just the same as the salmon and breams

~~~

Towards the distant ocean I swim

Flowing toward the land’s own rim

From the mountain towers swept

These feeble thoughts are all that’s kept

~~~

But what if this is all for naught?

Where is the life I so have sought?

To let my destiny flow along so meek,

Is this truly the path I seek?

~~~

These waters of time and life be damned

I will make my own way to land

For if I can but break free from this

A new path I would not but miss

~~~

So long all ye who do not fight

Let the waters of life steal your might

I will make my way my own

I will make my name be heard and known

~~~

So farewell to thee, ye waters of fate

Upon this shore I will clear my slate

And so to mine destiny I bid farewell

No more upon that river shall I dwell

~~~

Thank you for listening.

