Tags

, , , , , , ,

It is said that before you die your life passes before your eyes. It is in fact true. It’s called living.

-The Man Himself

While doing some reflecting, I was reminded why I became a writer in the first place.

The books I read as a child, the worlds that were opened to me, the stories that changed my life: all of these things I want to share with you.

And who else could I start with but with my greatest inspiration?

Terry Pratchett, to me, is the ultimate role model. Creative, funny and incredibly clever, he showed me the value in forging your own literary path. While others wrote of cookie-cutter medieval worlds and bland murder mysteries, Terry captivated a generation with world-turtles and amazing, off-beat heroes. 

From the powerless, eternal coward wizzard to the dwarf-raised red headed rightful king policeman, his characters constantly defied the norm and evoked a sense of wonder and mirth. 

His stories were a masterful blend of quiet introspection, genre defying twists and cleverly worded satire. Each story had a point, a purpose and a commentary on something all of us can relate to.

He inspired countless authors. Among them, me.

More than anyone else, Terry Pratchett made me want to become a writer.

My dream, at the time, was to one day meet him and have him acknowledge my writing. Sadly, after a long and happy life, he left this world for the next.

So, while I will never meet him in person, I still strive to write stories that he would consider interesting and perhaps even extraordinary.

Rest in Peace, my hero…

Below I have included some of my favourite books written by Terry Pratchett, I hope that you give them a read (you won’t be disappointed):

  • The Colour of Magic/The Light Fantastic
  • Mort
  • Sourcery
  • Guards Guards!
  • Eric
  • Interesting Times
  • The Last Continent
  • The Last Hero
  • Thud!
  • Nation

May he fill the afterlife with countless tales of wonder and joy.

