Tags

, , , ,

The title says it all, don’t you think?

After half a decade of writing, I have come to realize that inspiration cannot be controlled, created or forced. It is a natural, uncontrollable energy that strikes at random.

However, that is not to say that it cannot be facillitated, like a random lightning bolt drawn to a lightning rod.

Let me tell you a story.

Before Awakening appeared in my mind, all those years ago, I had no story ideas. I did not spend any time thinking about writing books or creating fictional worlds. I just… existed.

And then, on that fateful day in August, Awakening came to me. I was flying back to South Africa from the US. It was early in the morning, and I was seated beside my mother, who was sleeping peacefully. I was in a half-awake state, aware of the world around me but not fully alert. Deep sleep was only a matter of time…

One moment, nothing. The next, my mind was ablaze with inspiration for a story. Awakening, in its earliest form, was born. I did not plan for this, but I did not refuse it either.

So, if inspiration strikes at random, is there anything we can do to make it more likely to appear?

The answer is yes. All you have to do is keep an open mind. Read a lot of books, watch a lot of films, browse a lot of articles (I personally love perusing anything that catches my eye on Wikipedia), do anything that expands your knowledge. The wider your mental field of view, the greater the chance of witnessing something that inspires you to create something unique.

And remember, that first bout of inspiration is only the beginning. From the rough idea I received I had to work hard to develop the characters, locations and events that make up Awakening. 

Thanks for listening! I hope that this helps! The next tip is “Be Flexible”, look forward to it!

And remember, Never Lose Your Stride!

