Tags

, , , ,

The worst lies are the ones we tell ourselves.

Let me tell you a story. There once was a man who believed that he could only write his book when a vary specific set of conditions were met.

These conditions were:

  1. I can only write when I have plenty of energy
  2. I can only write when I have plenty of time (hours)
  3. I can only write late at night
  4. I can only write on weekends 
  5. I can only write when I have my raspberry Coke 
  6. I can only write when I have my music
  7. I can only write when I feel inspired

Can you guess who I’m talking about?

That’s right, it’s me.

If you add up all these conditions, it meant that I could only write for a few hours every week, if I was lucky. Naturally this didn’t do wonders for my pace.

It was only last year that I decided enough was enough. I wrote when I felt tired, when I only had a few a few minutes to spare, when it was a weekday afternoon, when I didn’t have my Coke or my music, and especially when I didn’t really feel like writing.

That change helped me go from stuck-in-editing author to published author in no time.

So, the point I am trying to make is this: we all lie to ourselves, maybe your lies are different from mine, but I’m sure that they are just as counter-productive.

I implore you to seriously look at yourself, identify those lies and take steps to eliminate them. You never know, it just might be the trigger that allows you to move forward with your work/writing/relationship or other.

I hope this helps, and as always, thanks for listening!

My next tip is “Write what you want to Write”, look forward to it!

And remember, If you ever Lose Your Stride, find out the reason and eliminate it!

