Tags

, , , ,

Today’s tip is a simple one. Before you start writing, choose the medium that best suits your needs.

When I first started writing Awakening, all those years ago, I wanted to distribute it as a printed book. Ideally, I would send off the completed manuscript to a reputable publisher and they would do the rest.

However, as the writing wore on, I realized that this path would not lead to the outcome I desired.

For me, the decision to go with digital distribution was based on several factors. 

  1. eBooks can never run out of stock or have to be ordered from another store
  2. The royalty fees are higher (35-80% vs 11-14%)
  3. You have more control over your content, including cover design and marketing
  4. It is easier to reach an international market
  5. Most people carry around an e-reader (kindle, iPhone, iPad, tablet, Galaxy etc) and can read the book at any time
  6. There is no risk of poor sales relegating your book to the bargain bin/or being returned
  7. It is easy to change the book price and you can give away the book for free (if you want)
  8. It is easier to advertise (especially via “Customers Also Bought lists) 
  9. Reviews are more numerous and are easier to access 

These are just a few of the reasons that prompted me to change my mind, but there were others. 

Additionally, living in South Africa helped me make up my mind. With a large portion of the people being illiterate, rural-based or speaking a different language (one of eleven official languages!), the chance of the book selling well was slim from the outset. In order to have a chance, I needed to distribute internationally, and digital publishing was the most reasonable answer.

In the future, if the book does well, I will most likely distribute via print media (to reach those who prefer paper books or who don’t own an e-reader), but for now, ebooks are the way to go.

What is the reading culture like in your country? Have you experienced a similar decision with your work? Let me know via the comments or shoot me an email, I would love to hear from you!

Thanks for listening! The next tip is “Stop Lying to Yourself!”, look forward to it!

And remember, Never Lose Your Stride! 

