Tags

, , , ,

One of the biggest mistakes I made while writing Awakening was the decision to use more than one font.

For those of you planning to release your stories as printed books, you can skip this tip. For those of you planning on releasing as e-books, listen up.

Long story short, the conversion process used by most major e-retailers do not play nicely with multiple fonts.

In my Word version of Awakening, I used two fonts, Times New Roman (the gold standard) and Franklin Gothic Medium (which I picked at random, don’t judge me). I used Times New Roman 99% of the time, and only used Franklin Gothic Medium to indicate that a certain class of individuals was speaking (for those of you who have read the book I’m talking about the A—–s).

Needless to say, when I at last reached the conversion phase I was sorely annoyed to find that my hard work had been a waste. I was forced to go through the book (all 656 pages) and manually change the font to Times New Roman (I used Bold to signify who was speaking instead).

So, in order to save yourselves a headache or three, stick to one font.

My next tip will be “eBook vs Print”, look forward to it!

And remember, Never Lose Your Stride!

