Tags

, , , ,

Long before my first words appeared on that blank Word document, I was planning ahead.

Whether you are writing a standalone book or a series, planning ahead can save you time and effort in the long run. The level of planning and the detail is up to you, of course, but I would recommend having the basics down.

Things like general character arcs, how the story starts and ends, and the general flow of the story are important and deserve some thought and foresight.

For example, it was an August half a decade ago when I first came up with the rough idea for Awakening. Instead of immediately fetching my laptop and writing down whatever came to mind, I spent months planning the book. And I didn’t stop there. Before I wrote the first sentence, I had the rough plan for all seven books in The Chronicles of New Eden. I knew how the story started, how Barsch’s character arc would unfold, and how the story would ultimately end. 

Having such a long term plan has allowed me to bury leads into earlier books, letting me mention events and characters who might only become relevant years later. This gives off the impression that the author knows exactly where the series is going and adds an extra level of fun when readers return to previous books in the series and spot all of the hidden leads.

Long story short, it never hurts to take the time to plan out your story. 

Thanks for listening! The next tip is “The Font Dilemma”, look forward to it!

And remember, Never Lose Your Stride!

